2023 NFL Draft Order and Time

2023 NFL Draft Order and Time

The annual 2023 NFL Draft will take place from April 27 to April 29 live from Kansas City. The next generation of pro football players will get the chance to fulfill their lifelong dreams and join the NFL.

And, of course, fans will have the opportunity to boo Roger Goodell off the stage once again.

To watch the draft, tune in to NFL Network, ESPN, or ABC. The schedule for each round is as follows (all times Eastern):

- Thurs., April 27 at 8 p.m.
- Fri., April 28 at 7 p.m.
- Sat., April 29 at 12 p.m.

Each team will have a certain amount of time to make their selections:

- Round 1: 10 minutes per selection
- Round 2: 7 minutes per selection
- Rounds 3-6, including compensatory picks: 5 minutes per selection
- Round 7, including compensatory picks: 4 minutes per selection

Here is the current draft order:

1. Carolina Panthers (via CHI)
2. Houston Texans
3. Arizona Cardinals
4. Indianapolis Colts
5. Seattle Seahawks (via DEN)
6. Detroit Lions (via LAR)
7. Las Vegas Raiders
8. Atlanta Falcons
9. Chicago Bears (via CAR)
10. Philadelphia Eagles (via NO)
11. Tennessee Titans
12. Houston Texans (via CLE)
13. Green Bay Packers (via NYJ)
14. New England Patriots
15. New York Jets (via GB)
16. Washington Commanders
17. Pittsburgh Steelers
18. Detroit Lions
19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
20. Seattle Seahawks
21. Los Angeles Chargers
22. Baltimore Ravens
23. Minnesota Vikings
24. Jacksonville Jaguars
25. New York Giants
26. Dallas Cowboys
27. Buffalo Bills
28. Cincinnati Bengals
29. New Orleans Saints (via SF via MIA via DEN)
30. Philadelphia Eagles
31. Kansas City Chiefs

The NFL creates the draft order based on regular season records. Teams with worse records pick players before teams with better records. The Super Bowl champion traditionally picks last.

For teams not in the playoffs, the NFL ranks the first 18 picks by regular season record, from worst to best, with tiebreakers going to teams with the easier strength of schedule.

For teams in the playoffs, the earlier a team loses, the earlier they will pick in the draft. Draft picks No. 19-24 go to the teams knocked out in the Wild Card Round of the NFL Playoffs, and picks No. 25-28 go to the teams that lose in the Divisional Round. The 29th and 30th draft picks go to the teams that lost their conference championship games.

Finally, No. 31 goes to the loser of the Super Bowl, while No. 32 goes to the NFL champion.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.